WINNERS OF THE 2023 CHRISTOF HEYNS MEMORIAL THESIS AWARD



CHRISTOF HEYNS Memorial Thesis Award

Pretoria University Law Press
PULP
www.pulp.up.ac.za

The Pretoria University Law Press (PULP) is proud to announce the winner of the Christof Heyns Memorial Thesis Award 2023. The award for the best thesis by an African doctoral candidate completed in 2022, goes to Dr Alphonce Paul Mbuya.

The Memorial Thesis Award was introduced to honour the memory of the late Professor Christof Heyns, who passed away in March 2021. Professor Heyns was one of the founders of PULP and took the initiative towards the introduction of this prize. This prize underlines his exceptional passion for promoting scholarship and a life devoted to initiating innovative ideas to make the world a better place for all.

The 2023 prize was awarded based on the assessment of a panel consisting of Prof Sloth-Nielsen (chairperson), Prof Bonolo Dinokopila (panelist member), and Prof Tumi Mmusinyane (panelist member).

PULP received entries from the University of the Western Cape, University of Cape Town, University of Kwazulu-Natal, St. Augustine University of Tanzania School of Law, University of Buea, North-West University, University of Pretoria, University of Stellenbosch, and Nelson Mandela University.

The winning thesis, by Dr Alphonce Paul Mbuya, is titled "Assessment of the realisation of older persons' right to healthcare in Tanzania", and was completed under the supervision of Prof Andrew Mollel and Dr Fiona Batt. The degree was awarded by St. Augustine University of Tanzania School of Law.

The runner-up thesis, by Dr Susan Carolyn Knox-Mosdell, is titled "A constitutional law perspective on structural poverty in South Africa", and was completed under the supervision of Professor AA Du Plessis. The degree was awarded by North-West University.

The winner and runner-up both have the option to publish their theses as a monograph by PULP, as part of the award. In addition to the option of publishing with PULP, Dr Alphonce Paul Mbuya receives a R10 000 cash prize, and Dr Susan Carolyn Knox-Mosdell receives a cash prize of R5 000.

Applications for the Christof Heyns Memorial Thesis Award for theses completed in 2023 will be invited soon. You are also welcome to contact us for more information.

Congratulations to the winners, and thank you to all the entrants.

Dr Liesl Hager

Research, Marketing and Publishing Assistant Pretoria University Law Press (PULP) liesl.hager@up.ac.za