The impact of the African Charter and the Maputo Protocol in selected African states
Edited by Victor Oluwasina Ayeni
ISBN: 978-1-920538-47-7
Pages: 331
Print version: Available
Electronic version: Free PDF available

Download free PDF

Order a paperback book

About the publication

The year 2016 was declared by the African Union as the African ‘Year of Human Rights with Particular Focus on the Rights of Women’ to commemorate and celebrate significant milestones in the realisation of human rights on the African continent. The year marks the 35th anniversary of the adoption of the African Charter on Human and Peoples’ Rights (African Charter), 30th year since coming into force of the African Charter and 10 years since the inauguration of the African Court on Human and Peoples’ Rights.

Since its adoption, the African Charter has been supplemented by the Protocol on the Rights of Women in Africa (Maputo Protocol). All AU member states (with the exception of new comer South Sudan) are state parties to the African Charter, and 36 of them have accepted the Maputo Protocol.

This book assesses the impact and effectiveness of the African Charter and the Maputo Protocol in 17 African countries, namely Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda and Zimbabwe. The book is the result of research conducted by selected alumni of the Centre for Human Rights’ LLM in Human Rights and Democratisation in Africa programme.

The Centre for Human Rights, which in 2016 is also celebrating 30 years of human rights education, intends to use this research as the basis for a continuously updated database on the impact of the African Charter and Maputo Protocol.

Table of Contents

Victor Oluwasina Ayeni

  • Burkina Faso
    Kounkinè Augustin Somé
  • Cameroon
    Polycarp Ngufor Forkum
  • Côte d’Ivoire
    Kounkinè Augustin Somé
    Armand Tanoh
  • Ethiopia
    Meskerem Geset Techane
  • The Gambia
    Satang Nabaneh
  • Ghana
    Michael Gyan Nyarko
  • Kenya
    Saoyo Tabitha Griffith
    Paul Ogendi
  • Lesotho
    Sizakele Hlatshwayo
  • Malawi
    Sarai Chisala-Tempelhoff
    Seun Solomon Bakare
  • Mauritius
    Meskerem Geset Techane
    Roopanand Mahadew
  • Nigeria
    Victor Oluwasina Ayeni
  • Sierra Leone
    Augustine Sorie Marrah
  • South Africa
    Ofentse Motlhasedi
    Linette du Toit
  • Swaziland
    Dumsani Dlamini
    Sizakele Hlatshwayo
  • Tanzania
    Grace Kamugisha Kazoba
    Charles Mmbando
  • Uganda
    Agaba Daphine Kabagambe
  • Zimbabwe
    Tarisai Mutangi
  • Conclusion
    Victor Oluwasina Ayeni

Questionnaire used for the study

Download free PDF

Order a paperback book


ORCID provides a persistent digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researcher and, through integration in key research workflows such as manuscript and grant submission, supports automated linkages between you and your professional activities ensuring that your work is recognised. If you do not have such an ID, please register at the website